New Orleans Chapter

Facebook page: Womens-National-Book-Association-of-New-Orleans


The New Orleans chapter was founded in June, 2011, thanks to the good influence of then national president Mary Grey James, a former New Orleanian. Susan Larson, chapter president, arranged the first meeting at the historic Latter Library on St. Charles Ave., and we were off and running. Among our approximately 55 members are booksellers, writers, publishers, professors, booklovers, librarians, and literary activists of all kinds.

Over the past three years, we have developed several programs that are meaningful to our literary community. We support the Little Free Library effort, and one of our board members, Linda Prout, is the ambassador for Little Free Libraries in our area and beyond. We have established The Pinckley Prizes for Crime Fiction, which are named in honor of our founding member, Diana Pinckley. The award recognizes women writers of crime fiction who have created outstanding debut novels as well as established bodies of work. Please check out The Pinckley Prizes for more information.

And, begun by Antoinette de Alteriis of Pelican Publishing, we host a Book Arts competition every November. Sheila Cork, librarian at the New Orleans Museum of Art, will host our first reading group conference this October during National Reading Group Month. Our holiday event benefits the Metropolitan Women and Children’s Shelter with book donations.

Follow us on Facebook at Women’s National Book Association of New Orleans.

Or reach out to one of us:

President, Susan Larson, slarson05 [at]

Vice President, Judith Lafitte Judith [at]

Treasurer, Karen Kersting karenmhk [at]