The 2015-2016 Writing Contest is now closed, and we’re reading your submissions.

Thanks for participating – we’ll post the results May 1, 2016

Thank you to our judges!

Ann Harleman, Fiction

Rosemary Daniell, Creative Non-Fiction/ Memoir

Mary Mackey, Ph.D., Poetry


2014-2015 Contest winners

Winning entries are published in a special edition of Bookwoman

Poetry: Diana Whitney for “Curiosity”

Fiction: Allison Har-zvi for “If You’re Ready”

Creative Non-Fiction/Memoir: Diane Kraynak for “Science Project”

Runners-up Announced:

Poetry:   2nd Place:  Sarah Wolbach: “Words [in transit]“

3rd Place: Michelle Regalado Deatrick: “The Light-Lust of Trees”

Honorable Mention: Tanya Ko Hong: “Comfort Woman”

Fiction:  2nd Place:  Vicki deArmon – “Hydroplaning”

3rd Place: Kathleen Spivak – “Moths”

Honorable Mention:  Kristen MacKenzie – “Cold Comfort”

Creative Non-Fiction/Memoir:  2nd Place: Renate Stendhal – “Kiss Me Again. She Did.”

3rd Place:  J. Martin – “The Only Child”

Honorable Mention: L. Loomis – “Ghost House”

To download the full results, click on the link:

2015 WNBA Writing Contest Winners

Questions? Email Contest Chairperson: [email protected]

Thank you for your submissions! Proceeds from the contest help support scholarships for writing conferences and other professional development training.

Watch for news on the next WNBA Writing Contest!

This year, the WNBA Writing Contest featured three categories of writing:

  • Fiction
  • Creative Non-Fiction
  • Poetry

Thank you to our judges:

Poetry: Ellen Bass

Fiction:  Michelle Hoover

Creative Non-Fiction/Memoir:  Dierdre Blair