The WNBA Award (for individual women)

The WNBA Award is presented every two years by the members of the Women’s National Book Association to “a living American woman who derives part or all of her income from books and allied arts, and who has done meritorious work in the world of books beyond the duties or responsibilities of her profession or occupation.” The award was formerly known as the Constance Lindsay Skinner Award. Its namesake was a playwright, critic, editor, and author active from early in the 20th century until her death in 1939.

Current Winner:

The 2010 winner is author, journalist, and activist, Masha Hamilton, whose Afghan Women’s Writing Project promotes the empowerment of women in Afghanistan through writing.  Click here for more information on Masha and the 2010 WNBA Award.

Previous Winners:

2008 Kathi Kamen Goldmark, founder of Rock Bottom Remainders, literary superstars who have donated over $1.5 million to support literacy, writing and freedom of expression.
2006 Perri Klass, MD, author, promoter of literacy, President and Medical Directory of Reach Out and Read, and professor of pediatrics
2004 Nancy Pearl, author, librarian, book reviewer, and radio talk show personality
2002 Patricia McKissack, Author
2000 Patricia Schroeder, Former Congresswoman, President and CEO, Assn. of American Publishers
1998 Doris Kearns Goodwin, Historian, author
1996 Carolyn G. Heilbrun, Author, feminist scholar
1994 Janet Palmer Mullaney, Founder and publisher, literary journal
1992 Jessie Carney Smith, Author, librarian
1990 Barbara Bush, First Lady, literacy advocate
1988 Claire Friedland, Book production specialist
1986 Ann Heidbreder Eastman, Bookwoman
1984 Effie Lee Morris, Librarian
1982 Barbara Tuchman, Author
1980 Anne Pellowski, Librarian, author
1978 Mary Stahlman, Douglas Book reviewer
1976 Barbara Ringer, Librarian
1976 Helen Honig, Meyer Publisher
1976 Frances Neal Cheney, Educator, author
1975 Margaret K. McElderry, Children’s book editor
1973 Mary Virginia Gaver, Librarian, educator
1972 Ursula Nordstrom, Children’s book editor
1971 Augusta Baker, School and public librarian
1970 Charlemae Hill Rollins, Librarian, author
1969 Victoria S. Johnson, Public relations professional
1968 Ruth Hill Viguers, Librarian, author
1967 Mildred L. Batchelder, Children’s librarian
1966 Blanche W. Knopf, Publisher
1965 School library consultant,
1964 Polly Goodwin, Children’s book reviewer
1963 Rachel Carson, Author
1962 Catherine Drinker Bowen, Author
1961 Eleanor Roosevelt, Former First Lady; author
1960 Pearl Buck, Author
1959 Marchette Chute, Author
1959 May Hill Arbuthnot, Editor, critic
1958 Edith Hamilton, Author
1957 Anne J. Richter, Editor
1956 Mary Ellen Chase, Author
1955 Bertha Mahoney Miller, Editor
1955 Fanny Butcher, Book reviewer
1954 Elizabeth Gray Vining Author, teacher
1953 Lillian C. Gurney, Bookseller
1952 Margaret C. Scroggin, Young people’s librarian
1951 Dorothy Canfield Fisher, Author
1950 May Massee, Children’s book editor
1949 Lucile Micheels Pannell, Bookseller
1948 May Lamberton Becker, Book reviewer
1947 Emily P. Street, Book sales and advertising
1946 Amy Loveman, Editor
1945 Lillian Smith, Author
1944 Mildred C. Smith, Editor
1943 Mary Graham Bonner, Author
1942 Irita Van Doren, Book review editor
1941 Blair Niles, Author
1940 Anne Caroll Moore, Librarian